Injury and completing the marathon

• Author
Hi All

Firstly, sorry for the long blog but im suffering from injury and a lack of confidence at this moment in time.

i have been training for the london marathon since the start of october, up until i started training i was in the gym about four times a week and generally pretty fit, although not running a great deal.

my training to the start of jan was going ok, running about three times in the week varying between 3,4,5,6 miles with one long run at the weekend, the longest being ten mile.

since christmas i have suffered with a string of heavy colds/man flu ;)which have prevented me from running as much and also pains in my shins, i have now stopped running since last week and planned to rest for two whole weeks until the pain hopefully subsides or go's completely, i have been iceing strectching etc.Have also had an x ray today to rule out any possible fracture, the shin is sore but have a dull achey pain right beneath a lump on my shin, im hoping this is a compartment pain from the lump and not anything worse, its hurts when i start running, seems to get a bit better throgh running, but the day after was very sore.

i have a half marathon on the 24th march, if i start training again on the 4th, and have a couple of light runs during the week with a long run on the 1st sunday of 8 mile and a long run on the 2nd sunday of 11ish miles then i have no probelm in finishing the half marathon, my problem is then i have one month to feel i can finish a full marathon, is it possible to fit in only runs of 15 , 18 and 21 to be able to finish.

i realise this is cutting it fine and its not ideal by a long shot and it all depends on my results over the next two weeks of rest, but if someone could help me out with a revised training plan or at least let me know "yes you will be able to finish, not anywhere near where i want to, but just finish" then it would be a great help.

many thanks

Posted 18.02.13, 4:08pm

Hi Glen