What to drink?

• Author
I have been filling up a waterbottle with tap water while training for the marathon. I am a complete beginner and am now up to 8.5 miles. I am looking at the information for fluid on the day. I shall be starting to buy vittel to get used to it but have never tried lucozade drinks or gels before. I was going to take sips of water at every station but because I am a very slow runner may try the lucozade products. I am unsure when to take these how many, also with water?How many gels? I find it hard to tell when I am dehydrated but also have read about the dangers of too much water. Any advice??

Posted 01.02.13, 10:52pm

water is water and i would recommend drinking when thirsty i would think sips at every station will be fine as long as its sips i personally dont do gels or lucozsde but have nuun tabs added to water when doing long runs and/ or jelly beans. during traininig you Will find what works for you, dont over think it just listen to your body! 

Smilegood luck

Posted 01.02.13, 11:46pm

Water at VLM is plentiful - maybe too plentiful. From I think mile three there is water every mile. Thats an awful lot. Personally (and others will disagree) think people are prone to drinking too much rather than too little. Aiming to drink every mile will see you drinking quite a bit even if planning to sip Laughing.

Two main aims with fuel  first is hydration - you need to work out how much water you need, things like nunn tabs, nectar hydro etc can "help" the absorbtion of that water quicker and also add some elctrolites etc. Basically they are similar to lucozade lite - few if any calories so little in way of fuel. I tend to drink very little even on marathons but everyone is different.